Turn Job Search Rejection into Success

Today I got an email linking me to an article for Monster.com. “How New Grads Can Take Charge of Job Search Rejection” had my interest and I thought I’d share the insight with those students jumping into the icy cold job market waters with me.

Everyone understands that sending resumes, emails, making phone calls and not receiving feedback can quickly lead to negative thoughts. Feeling like you will never find a job is common. Concluding you must move back in with parents while working at the mall for the rest of your life may seem like the only option. It is important to remember that new jobs are being posted all the time. I’ve noticed significant increases in the job databases, and listings across numerous industries since January. It is possible to launch a strong career, we just have to keep at it until we find the perfect opportunity.

Remember that the more opportunities you open yourself up to, the greater your chances of successfully landing a position. Consider multiple locations and industries, and think about how a media job in Oregon could lead to a successful marketing career in California. Any experience is good experience at this point in the game.

Most importantly, get feedback from companies and recruiters you have connected with. If you went for an interview and received a rejection email. Follow up with a thank you (you should always do this), and ask if there was some weak point the recruiter saw in your resume. Seek constructive answers to these questions and more:

  • How should I improve my cover letter and resume?
  • How could I have better shown how my skills and experiences would help the company?
  • How could I improve my interviewing skills?
  • Did I communicate my knowledge of and excitement about company goals and how I could contribute from day one?
  • Did I have a background gap?

If you continue to apply without success or making it to the interview process, you should reevaluate your job search strategies and make sure you are well focused, prepared and connected to the right people and resources. Job searching is time intensive, but manageable. I’ve recently tried to create realistic goals on a time line. For example, applying to 2 interesting companies by the weekend. Contacting 3 companies of interest to inquire about entry-level opportunities. And searching for small businesses you might not have heard of, but are located in your ideal locations.

Leave a Reply

