If Twilight were about the Internet

After finishing Seth Godin’s book Meatball Sundae I realized that there are numerous Internet success stories. Godin pulls upon a great variety of examples to showcase his major points about how anyone can use online tools to improve their business, engage with customers, and make the whole traditional message pushing a thing of the past. Old Marketing as it is called, gets set aside to be replaced by New Marketing strategies focused on consumer interaction which pulls customers to your brand.

I do not intend to write a full book review, but when I finished this book, I was left contemplating the extent to which all these stories proved a point. What about the millions of bloggers who were unsuccessful? What happened to all those companies that tried their best to engage an audience in the online marketspace, but failed to gain traction with their big ideas? I concluded its all about having a strong message with an emotional story to tell. The content needs to be interesting and relevant to the desired audience and it must be delivered within a certain window of time, or all opportunity is lost.

After thinking about this I developed what I think Stephenie Meyer would write if she developed a series about the Internet for business and entrepreneurs. Here it is:

About three things I was absolutely positive: First, the Internet connects all of us. Second, there is a part of it – and I don’t know how dominant that part might be – that commands my attention. And third, I am unconditionally confused and irrevocably amused by it.

Leave a Reply

