A Guiding Light & Tide-Pools

The Oregonian and Travel Oregon are still accepting entries for a chance to win an Oregon vacation. http://oregonlive.com/travel Entrants must be 21 years of age and should submit a tip regarding traveling in Oregon before October 8, 2010. Although I’ve seen so much of the state and could choose from a variety of experiences, I decided to pick a classic destination with a fun twist that might typically go unnoticed. Below is my tip for a fun afternoon on the Oregon Coast.

“A great spot to explore tide pools can be found just 6 miles south of Yachats, Oregon along Highway 101. Turning toward the ocean at milepost 170 puts you at Bob Creek Wayside. Check tide-tables before you go since you cannot explore this area near high-tide. Also take it slow since the beach is rocky. Pools usually have colorful anemone, shells, and the occasional starfish. Young crabs also like to hide among these rocks if you look hard enough. During most visits you can count the people exploring on one hand, making this a fun and quiet spot to spend ten minutes or a full hour. After exploring these tide-pools, head 9 miles south to Heceta Head State Park for a short hike, great views, and more photo opportunities.”

I realize sharing this might let a few more people enter, lowing my odds of winning one of the four prizes for myself, but I guess I’m feeling generous. Still, I’ve got my fingers crossed for the southern Oregon getaway.

Leave a Reply

